top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturenemos spray tan

Off Camera Flash

Updated: Dec 10, 2019


F/stop- 5.0 Shutter speed- 1/180 ISO- 200 Flash power- 1/6

For these images lighting was the hardest part to sort out. The problem came when the sun started setting directly across from us. I had to figure out how to set the flash to where you could still see it show up despite the sun also in the models face.


F/stop- 5.0 Shutter speed- 1/180 ISO- 200 Flash power- 1/6

The angles were easy to work out, mostly because the setting I shot at was all trees and leaves so any angle looked good.


F/stop- 5.0 Shutter speed- 1/180 ISO- 200 Flash power- 1/6

Although, at the beginning of this process it took a little while to find the perfect settings.


F/stop- 5.0 Shutter speed- 1/180 ISO-200 Flash power- 1/6

While shooting these images nothing was really going wrong. The shoot went smoothly thank the lord.


F/stop- 5.0 Shutter speed- 1/180 ISO- 200 Flash power- 1/6

But, we did run into a couple cats in the bush while taking pictures. They looked like possums at first.


F/stop - 3.5 Shutter speed- 1/30 ISO- 320 Flash power- 1/7

This shoot was so much fun. I used a bigger flash with an umbrella diffuser and one smaller flash.


F/stop - 1.8 Shutter speed- 1/80 ISO- 100 Flash power- 1/7

I didn't use a school camera. Instead I used a Sony A7II with an 85mm lens. I was able to capture better pictures with this camera, I felt.


F/stop- 5.6 Shutter speed- 2.5 sec ISO- 50 Flash power- 1/9

I experimented in this shoot a lot with light placement, gel colors, and shutter speed. That's how I captured the photo above.


F/stop - 3.5 Shutter speed- 1/30 ISO- 320 Flash power- 1/7

The only thing I struggled with here was the placement of the larger light. I was in a smaller space so most times the flash would be in the shot at the corner. But, I found a way to fix it by moving my model and moving some furniture around.


F/stop - 3.5 Shutter speed- 1/30 ISO- 320 Flash power- 1/7

Other than those things there were no issues or downfalls. This shoot also went very well and I learned about how the shutter speed can make a pretty cool picture with christmas lights.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Hope

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
bottom of page